Some students take one year off between school and university. Do advantages overweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, Taking a gap year is very popular among students. A large number of students prefer to take a year off between high school and University. This essay will present the benefits and drawbacks of this trend and also it will discuss why the advantages of having a gap year outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand, there are many positive impacts of having a year off between school and college. the first is that young people have solid work experience which leads to improving their skills. Students who take a gap year to work, have a lot of qualities such as communication skills, and customer services skill, and also they are able to work well under pressure. Second, some students take benefits of this year by travelling abroad to explore the world and learn new languages. For example, some developed countries exchange students which helps youngsters to be independent. Overall,having a year off between high school and college is very essential for students. On the other hand, Taking a non-academic year has some drawbacks. First, A few students, when they finish their gap year, they don't continue their studies, this is due to the stress from college and university. For instance, some families have been struggling to convince their kids to continue their studies. Furthermore, a few students might use this year to do bad stuff such as taking drugs. This year, Some youngsters surround themselves with bad friends and they end up learning bad habits instead of improving themselves. To sum up, these two disadvantages pale in comparison to the benefit. In conclusion, this essay discussed both cons and pros of having a year off between school and university. Although this trend has some disadvantages, I believe the advantages overweigh the disadvantages.