In many countries the law says that youngsters must attend school or college till 18. What are the advantages and the disadvantages

Beyond doubt, education plays a pivotal role in framing a career. Thus, several Nations have made schooling compulsory up till the age of 18 years. This phenomenon has both merits and demerits which are explained in detail along with relevant examples in the forthcoming paragraphs. The first and perhaps the biggest advantage of compulsory education is that it prevents social evil such as child labour. This is because when a child under the age of 18 is found working at any organisation becomes a punishable offence. Moreover, it gives rise to a community of literate mortals who not only strives for success but also cause the growth of the country in all spheres. For example, Finland and Norway which have 100% literacy rates employ a good number of individuals in the sectors of science and technology as well as in human and animal welfare and many other sections. Further, a state with high education index tends to have a lower crime rate. This is because illiteracy and poverty are the prime factors for boosting criminal activities. For instance, Finland has a minute crime rate. On the contrary, a host of people claim that one does not need higher education to follow their passion like being a photographer, a sports person or an actor or even starting a youtube channel. Apart from this, some people like to travel in their teenage years which is not possible in countries with such law. Lastly, such rigid legislation obliterates the scope for individuals to support their family financially which becomes absolutely necessary after the death of the only earning member of the household. Thus to conclude, we can say although compulsory education till 18 has some demerits but the benefits provided by it in the form of national growth and reduction in unlawful acts faroutweighs. Therefore every country must focus on tutoring the youth till 18 years of age.