The society is based on rules and laws. The society would not function well if individuals were free to do whatever they want. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The society is regulated by regulations and laws, and it is unable to maintain the society fully functional, if individuals have access to do whatever they want freely. Personally, I strongly agree with this idea and my reasons will be given in the following essay. There is no doubt that detrimental effects come with the absence of laws and rules. To begin with, the absence of the regulations will break the supply-demand chain that maintains society's function. If people flood to one profession that produces excess profit than any other areas, according to the economy rule, the products in this section will soon be over-produced, consequently have a drop in value and people will then leave and gather in another field repetitively. This will produce periodic crisis in the economy and does harm to the society. Moreover, it is widely known that all the methods that lead to instant richness are written in laws, and the compete freedom in one society will inevitably drive manufacturers to make products which does harm to public health and cause long-lasting poisoning effect to the environment. As a result, the increase of illness rate and the decrease of food production caused by that will also forbid the society from functioning well. In addition, beneficial consequences also arise from the regulations. Obviously, the the existence of those laws contributes to the economy. As I mentioned above, people are keen on seeking for more profit, the regulation of law forces merchants and companies to seek better techniques and management methods, to gain more profit than their peers without breaking the law, resulting in the self-driven development of technology. It not only contributes to the economy but also leads to the evolution of the society itself. To conclude, I strongly believe that it is essential for everybody in the world to obey the rules, and our society cannot operate well without laws and social norms.