Popular events like the football World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is believed that international sports events can safely ease political tensions between countries and also increase love for the own nation. I utmostly agree with this notion and I provide substantial evidence and examples to confirm my opinion in this essay. First and foremost, popular sports competitions like The World Cup and The Olympics, which are held every 4 years, are clear examples of how these types of events can overcome political barriers. For instance, the rivalry between Russia and Ukraine is not taken into consideration when supporters of the two teams are at the stadium hoping for their own nation to win. On those occasions, people from different countries can share love and passion for sports with the only purpose of sustaining their players. Secondly, sports events like the aforementioned World Cup involve countries from all over the world and are organised by a single nation. Consequently, this means that every citizen will contribute to presenting their own country to the rest of the world by participating in the organization or just by sponsoring the event. Based on a recent study, for example, it has been shown that people have a greater sense of unity and patriotism during the year in which the games take place. Indeed, an increase in the number of national flags sold can be appreciated in that specific period of time. To conclude, it is without any doubt that global sporting occasions not only soften political fights among nations but can also contribute to increment the sense of unity and nationality among citizens.