In many parts of the world there is continuous coverage of sports on television. Some people believe this discourages the young from taking part in any sport themselves. Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

The craze of sports is ever-rising all around the globe and television has acted as a catalyst for increasing viewership of the different sports. However, many people have an opinion that, due to this rise in viewership, children are not taking an active part in sports. In my opinion, this is not the case and I feel due to the increase in the telecast of sports more teenagers are actively participating in them. To begin with, live streaming of sports binds people to the edge of their seats as the sport are very much exciting, but, these also have some negative consequences. Firstly, getting entertainment while sitting in one place in a comfort zone, discourages young ones to play sports as they have to work hard. For instance, in my,home there is a large projector connected to the T.V. By which I can watch cricket on a large screen which gives me a lot of joy, but I don't like to play it as it requires much hard work and dedication. Thus, these are one of the reasons why television discourages children to take active participation in sports. In my opinion, I feel that, due increase in the live streaming of sports, more and more young children are attracted to take part in different kinds of sports as it is fun and if you reach the topmost level you can earn a name as well as fame. For example, cricket is like religion in my country and almost 90% of kids want to become a cricketer at a young age their idols are Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli,and M S Dhoni who are huge icons in my country and their popularity, urge kids to take part in cricket and like that football has Ronaldo, Messi, Pele which attracts the children to actively involve in sports. Therefore, I feel, that sports telecasts increasing on television, enable children to play sports rather than just watch them on TV. To conclude, I don't think forecasting sports on television will discourage children to not play sports, but I feel the opposite of it and it actually encourages children to take part in different sports as the marketing of sports is done through it.