Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

There are some people who have chosen the alternate path of not consulting their doctor, rather they prefer to visit the so-called gurus. This is trending in most developing countries. Well, in my opinion, everyone is free to choose their own way of healing, but we should be cautious of all the fake doctors trying to take advantage of innocent people by misguiding them and assuring them they could heal them quicker than the professionals. We live in a free world where people have the freedom in choosing their own path to heel. The Caveat is, taking an orthodox path could lead to enhanced suffering and sometimes prove to be more fatal. A growing trend of innocent people visiting gurus is noticed in some of the developing countries, like India and Srilanka. These gurus, try to brainwash people and convince them to try their unorthodox and illegal ways of getting healed quickly without much of the suffering. For instance, they offer them drugs and other substances which are illegal in the country. Society should not promote such unethical practices, that might result in fatal. Some of the patients land in a situation where their condition gets worse and even medical science fails to help them at such a stage. People losing faith in doctors could be hazardous and has the power of taking down any country on its knees. For example, there was a case in Delhi hospital where the patient was admitted to the last stage of cancer, as he initially consulted a famous guru. In conclusion, I would say everyone is free to choose their own way of treatment, but we shouldn't fall into the trap of unprofessional and unethical self-claiming doctors.