Some believe that modern technology is increasing the gap between rich and poor, while others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Inequality has been a topic of heated debate for decades, as the rich are richer and the poor are poorer around the world. Although the idea that modern technology is the cause may appear reasonable, it is not the primary factor contributing to this trend. There is a number of reasons why some argue that technological advancements make the gap between the rich and the poor larger. First, since the world has changed more rapidly thanks to technology, people who don't have access to modern conveniences, which is what affluence all possess, will be left behind. For instance, while the elite is taking great advantage of mobile phones for quick and easy communication, the poor are having to use other means, such as public telephone, which is highly time-consuming. Second, in order to enhance the quality of life, people are required to constantly learn and improve their knowledge and skills to contend and adapt. This means that people who have laptops and access to the Internet will easily prevail over those who don't. Nevertheless, there is plenty of evidence suggesting that technology is not the determining factor contributing to the trend. It is true that modern tools will make life easier, but it takes more than that to become wealthy. For example, a student who is mentally strong usually finds every possible way to escape from his or her life's difficulties and may become richer than one who is born already wealthy. In addition, habits are key because they can either steer someone into a path of success or leave him or her astray into a cycle of destructive behaviour. In fact, many of the poor were once rich because of their uncontrollable spending habits and negative lifestyles. To summarize, the argument that technological advantages are coming at the expense of inequality is reasonable to a certain extent. In my opinion, if everyone can recognize they can change their lives with positive mindsets and lifestyles, the lack of modern means won't be an obstacle.