Why is mass media important? Is it primarily a positive or negative influence? Give your opinion based on your own knowledge or experience

Mass media is important because it is a means for people in society to be informed on the many issues that impact their lives from the more mundane to the profound. Without mass, media many of us would be living in a virtual information vacuum dependent on information on face-to-face contacts. Furthermore, now that the more traditional mass media like radio, television, printed newspapers have been augmented by the newer forms the internet offers, accessibility has greatly improved. Information flows may be streamed onto hand held devices at great speed and low cost in a wireless free environment. In addition to that, the mass media, in whatever form, allows people to be more deeply informed on political issues, health issues, weather patterns, current events of every type including births, marriage and deaths. Local, national and internationally significant occurrences are available to anyone who has the requisite device. Moreover, life is not all serious business. Cultural life includes the enjoyment of sport, music, movies, theatre, comedy and celebrity gazing. The mass media satisfies this cultural craving as well from the sublime to the ridiculous. I believe that mass media is, in balance, a very positive influence. It enriches the daily life of countless millions in hundreds of different languages. Television alone, provides a heady mix of the lighthearted and the serious, both entertaining and informing all segments of society. The new mass media has had a profound effect on the education of many and eased the ability to communicate with family and extend friendship patterns beyond the narrow confines of one’s immediate circle. Face book and Twitter played a major role in the overthrow of Arab dictatorships by revealing the truth of ordinary peoples’ lives and their courage in this Arab Spring. In my own experience, I have delight in the ability to read twenty newspapers throughout the world on a daily basis from my room or in a café, educating myself about the latest impeachment trial here of a Chief Justice. Alternatively, I can leap abroad and read about the Republican Primary contest for the US Presidency or the relief that a Jon Stewart comedy video clip offers me on the Huffington Post. I, therefore, therefore think the mass media is a basic part of a healthy democracy. Used positively, it empowers and enlightens.