Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

These days,some individuals are of the opinion that the major problem in the environment is a result of the extinction of some breeds of plants and animals. Whereas, others believe that there are more significant issues contributing to environmental hazards than just the loss of some species of plants and animals. My essay will discuss both views and give a concluding opinion. On one hand, the loss of some kinds of animals and plants in our environment has increased drastically due to the increase in deforestation which is a result of urbanization and also owing to the rise in the number of hunters killing animals either for food or as a source of income. In recent times, overpopulation had made man clear up their environment in other to build homes to accommodate the growing population and also construct various facilities needed to make the environment more habitable. All of these have caused a tremendous decline in the number of plants and animals needed to balance the oxygen and carbon dioxide in the ecosystem. On the other hand, other factors such as an increase in the ownership of vehicles and bikes and citizens not supporting carpooling have polluted the atmospheric air condition with carbon monoxide and this has led to the depletion of the ozone layer causing acid rain. Also, the burning of fossil fuels to generate heat for industrial and domestic purposes has caused further depletion of the protective layer of our environment. For example, the acid rain that occurred in 2015 in Nigeria was attributed to the high usage of fossil fuels in the environment and it was encouraged that members of the society should use alternative methods for generating heat. Furthermore,indiscriminate disposal of waste in homes and companies can cause land, animal and water pollution which can affect millions of people in the environment and also damage the ecosystem. For instance, the disposal of waste in drainage canals has caused flooding in various countries all over the world, including Nigeria. In conclusion, I believe factors such as improper waste disposal, an increase in the release of carbon monoxide from the burning of fossil fuels and from cars, and people not indulging in eco-friendly behaviours such as carpooling are more dangerous to the environment and the government should take measures to ensure laws and policies are enacted to curb this problem caused to the environment.