The internet has made traditional libraries unnecessary. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Discuss giving examples from your own knowledge andexperience.

It is argued that the Internet has taken over traditional libraries and has made them go out of business. I agree with this opinion as finding books has become simpler and has also reduced the cost of heavy library subscriptions. The first reason for my agreement is that without visiting the libraries one can find a book of their interest merely by searching through the web as compared to previously when it was a time-consuming activity to locate the book, where sometimes it used to be also taken by someone else or non-availability. It has also become more convenient to get multiple publications at a certain point. For example, on, Amazon a person can either buy a book, rent an electronic version or download the pdf files. A further reason is that traditional libraries used to have hefty fees for membership to use the library, even if a person is not availing of the benefits. There was a case where someone has moved from the city and had forgotten to cancel the membership resulted in affecting their credit score due to nonpayment of the fees, along with that there were costs associated when the books were returned after the due date in terms of late submission. For instance, when I was younger, we used to access a library in our neighbourhood which used to charge us $50 every month to use the facilities. To conclude, I firmly believe that due to the fact of the Internet finding and getting books is much easier than previously and resulted in saving some money.