Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind the bars. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

The crime rate has been increasing at an alarming rate in urban cities. According to some folks, voluntary work should be done through particular accused individuals rather than locking them up in prisons. I partially agree with the given statement. This essay will elucidate my assertions in the forthcoming paragraphs. It is everyone's responsibility to contribute equally to social welfare activities. There are various predominant reasons behind provisions regarding social work done by culprits. Firstly, it will keep their mind engaged in an activity and will prevent them from getting involved further in any criminal acts. Secondly, it will enhance their skill sets which can be beneficial for them to earn money when they will be released from jail. For example, labour jobs like construction or carpentry involve great money and it can help convicts to earn their livelihood after completing their imprisonment. Hence, they should be allocated voluntary jobs. On the other hand, teenagers are immensely influenced by inhuman virtual events and try to imitate them in their real lives. Prisoners involved in serious offences should be sent to rehabilitation centres for their treatment rather than involving them in community work. After getting medical treatments, they can spend the rest of their lives at home like other normal citizens. Additionally, it would be detrimental to society if hostages will start working with them. For instance, it can lead to involvement in an argument with co-prisoners. Therefore, considering the safety of the people around their surroundings it is essential to put them in imprisonment. To sum up, it is the government's first and foremost responsibility to maintain law and order in the country. A balanced approach including long-term sentences, rehabilitation centres, and fines is required to treat the accused involved in serious criminal activities.