Some people think that money is the best gift for teenagers, while others say it is not a good gift for them. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In this present world, money plays an important role in people’s lives. However, while some people believe the best teenagers ’ presents are money, I side with those who feel it is not a good choice as a present. On the one hand, it could be argued that giving money as a gift has some benefits. Those in favour of this idea feel that teenagers usually like to follow superstars' and artists' lifestyles and fashions, and they try to wear like them, but most of the time, they do not have enough money for buying those expensive outfits. Giving money as a gift could enable them to purchase their favourite clothing or shoes. Supporters also claim that except for cash, giving anything else would not be useful since adolescent tastes are completely different from adults. Therefore, it is better to leave them to choose what they want to buy by giving them money as a present. However, I side with those that believe there are better gifts than money. It is a fact that teenagers are very emotional, and sometimes they might make decisions that are not to their benefit. If teenagers have access to money, they might go to experience illegal material such as street drugs which could seriously compromise their health. Therefore, it is better to limit their options by buying a proper gift such as a famous novel book, which makes them entertained and has no harm. Moreover, in my opinion, it is not just about the gift that we are providing to make them happy, but it indicates which values they are being taught. Whatever teenagers learn, they usually practice it later when they get older and become a parent. As a result, by establishing a good habit in our teenagers, they would be able to convey it to their children too, which benefits more and more young people. To summarize, although giving money as a gift brings smiles to the faces of teenagers, and they can buy what they like, it has a risk of impacting their health or values. Therefore, on balance, I believe a gift should be anything than money.