New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Today is the era of advanced science and technology. In the last few years, it has grown rapidly and has brought significant impacts on all aspects of human life. Specifically, children have changed their habit activities in their spare time. From my perspective, this tendency has the drawbacks outweigh the benefits and I will explain the reason in this essay. One of the most significant problems is that the arrival of the Internet allows children to have access to unlimited information and applications at any time. It is natural for children to be curious, and they are not mature enough to distinguish the detrimental effects that technology devices attack them. For instance, with the flash IT revolution moving forward, many game software were produced to serve entertainment needs. At a young age, they normally are attracted by social media and games so they are willing to use all their time on them which leads to many physical and mental health problems. Another disadvantage is that through technology, children could keep in touch with friends from everywhere so they do not have to go out to meet them face to face like they used to in the past but through video calls. This issue increases social isolation. Youngsters now are easily prone to the virtual world where friends can be AI and they use it as a place to hide from reality. Using it several times could bring some temporary comfort but in the long run, teenagers may no longer be aware of the boundary between real and virtual and they rely more on them. Nevertheless, it has become an integral part of modern life. To sum up, technology has harmfully changed children's lives from outdoors to indoors. In particular, most of their free time is spent on internet activities with electronic tools.