Some people think that when a person travels into a different culture they should adapt into the local practices and customs. To what extent do you agree?

The world is a vast place to explore and different countries of the globe have varied amount of social and cultural norms. A number of people believe that an individual travelling to some other country should study and learn the local rules and customs. My views completely agree with this idea and this essay will give reasons for it in the below-given paragraphs. To begin with, learning and adapting the social and cultural norms can help the person from making any unknowing mistakes that could offend the natives of that particular country. For example, in Japan, while eating noodles, it is found offensive to slurp on them, whereas in other cultures, most of the people do make slurping sounds while consuming noodles. Thus, what is believed to be accepted in one culture might not be accepted in the other. In addition, gaining knowledge about a country and its laws can guide the person to adapt more quickly and thus exposes them to new experiences. Learning about the local practices can help the individual to form various relationships and bonds with the people around them. For example, many international students tend to research about the country they move to before leaving their native place as it helps them to blend into the crowd more easily. In conclusion, my views completely agree with the situation that an individual should learn about the different social norms of a culture as it will not only help them to form close bonds with the natives but it will also refrain them from making any mistakes and offend the natives.