Many people feel that all teenagers should have to do unpaid work during their free time to help the local community and for the benefit of society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a new idea circulating among some experts which states that teenagers should do charity work on their holidays in order to gain a deeper appreciation and help their local communities. Although I believe that there are some merits to such arguments, I have to disagree with such notions and in this,essay I will try to reason my perspective and draw a conclusion. On the one hand, it is foolish to assume that teenagers are not able to help their societies. The bright mind of such young humans can instantly learn and practice new talents in new circumstances. For instance, I experienced this first-hand when a teenager learned how to analyze some experimental data almost overnight and was able to help us reach our conference deadline. Therefore, these individuals are capable of helping their communities in meaningful ways. However, I think that teenagers should be reimbursed for such jobs. First, I believe that if they are not paid sufficiently, they are going to lose their motive and will not do the task up to standards. For example, a teenager might feel that the task is imposed upon him/her and as a result do not perform satisfactorily. Thus, it is of utmost importance to motivate such individuals, and money can do this very well. Second, I think that such notions might harm these young humans by avoiding the opportunity of studying in their free time or learning essential skills that might prove useful in the future. For one, I learned basic programming in my free time when I was a teenager. So, I believe that it will be cruel to force teenagers to do such things without any kind of pay. To sum up, it is indeed obvious that younger generations can be useful for their societies, however, if one has to work one must be reimbursed for it so as to raise their motivation. Additionally, any form of work should not devoid them of their valued time. Nevertheless, as far as I am concerned, governments should legislate rules in order to use this young workforce and pay them in preparing their attitude and behaviour.