Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teacheing sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Volunteering experiences have become an estimation standard while entering high school. In other words, joining in charity events becomes obligatory for Taiwanese students. I personally disagree with this idea. It is against nature and sometimes might even put a burden on both pupils and charity organizations. To begin with, compulsory and temporary participation can cause managing problems for charity groups. I once helped in an orphan kindergarten because of the same reason, to fulfil my schoolwork. On the first day I was introduced to the kids in there, those kids popped out questions about how long I would stay. Soon that I realized that this is cruel to such a young kid if the participants do not devote themselves in the long term. At the same time, the trainers also find it hard to manage the newcomers like me because they will leave abruptly when their duty is done. Furthermore, students who are unwilling but forced to join community services might feel tiresome during the whole service. In extreme cases, they might even connect this exhausting experience with volunteer services. Therefore, those children might become unwilling to participate in such events in their whole life. That is definitely what the teachers do not want to see. For example, my cousin was pushed to devote his summer vacation to volunteering activities to make his profile look perfect. He always complained his time got occupied for no reason instead of feeling satisfied after the contribution. Thus, forcing pupils to contribute only pushes them away. In conclusion, I opine that students should be given great freedom to choose whether or not to help others. After all, the heart of kindness and friendliness is the cornerstone of community service.