In many countries there has been an increase in social problems involving teenagers in recent years. Many people believe that this is due to modern lifestyles because parents spend more and more time at work and have less time to supervise their children. To what extent do you believe this is true?

In the modern day, more and more luxury technology and facilities were created to serve humans. To achieve that luxurious lifestyle, folks have to spend an enormous time on career growth as an effect of getting high wages for coping with high standards of life rather than parenting their offspring. In my opinion, parents play a key role in the development of their children, but the modern lifestyle has also played a part in the growth of children. This essay will discuss both views. To begin with, parents play an important role in the natural development of their offspring such as their parent involvement, children learn different right and wrong in their early years and their awareness is distorted in behaviour and personality and the result in juvenile delinquency. For instance, in a slum in developing countries such as Rio de Janeiro, parents are quite busy looking for a job or have to work harder until night. They do not have time for their child and the result of less education from their parents is that their children will become worse in behaviour and raise the juvenile delinquency rate in these countries. Modern lifestyles with the development of Internet social media, children tend to grow earlier than in the past when they have other places to go such as cinemas, bar clubs and more places and contact earlier contents that are unsuitable for them on the Internet. For that, children can meet other kinds of people that can make them become better or worse. If they do not have parental guidance to select the people they can communicate with, children will have more harmful thinking which increases the social problem. To conclude, it can be seen clearly that the role of parents in the development of their child is essential. Parents should spend more time with their children to guide them into becoming good citizens.