34.Some countries now have people from different cultures and ethnic groups. What is the reason for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

In the era of globalization, multicultural societies are common in most developed countries. As a result, new challenges at both the national and international levels have emerged, and successfully adapting to this new phenomenon of migration has become an essential issue. Therefore, there are some people who argue that this tendency will bring more benefits than drawbacks to society. Personally, I partially agree with this idea. Firstly, a multicultural society can promote innovation within the entire society to some degree. This is because people from different countries speak different native languages, representing diverse thought processes. In other words, the existence of a pluralistic society represents the diversity of thought processes within it. When people communicate with those who have different thinking modes, it can ultimately lead to the development of their divergent thinking and promote innovation in society as a whole. Besides, a multicultural society is conducive to integrating different cultures. In the past, due to geographical isolation and other factors, people from different countries did not understand each other enough. Even with limited information or even blockades, citizens from various ethnic groups may misunderstand or discriminate against others. However, with the development of the internet and global transportation, people now live together regardless of their nationalities and communicate with each other to exchange what they have. This is beneficial in enhancing the understanding between people from all countries. For example, Europeans' understanding of China used to largely come from movies and they misunderstood it as a deprived and backward country. As more and more Europeans come to live or work in China, there is a growing recognition and appreciation for Chinese culture. This facilitates cultural exchanges between China and foreign countries. Admittedly, the existence of a multicultural society can cause some issues. One of the most obvious things is that people with weak national identities are very easy to be eroded by other countries ' cultures, which eventually leads to cultural assimilation. However, at present, governments of all countries attach great importance to the protection and promotion of their own culture. They also strengthen education in history and language from a young age. I believe that to a certain extent, this can improve the cultural identity of their citizens. In conclusion, despite the drawbacks that multiculturalism may bring about, it seems to me that it would exert beneficial impacts on countries globally.