In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an aging population creates a problem for governments. Other people think they are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an aging population outweigh the disadvantages?

It is thought by some people that an increase in the number of elderly people among the population causes a lot of problems for the governments. Meanwhile, others believe an ageing population has some advantages and can even improve the economic situation, as elderly people can stay longer in their workplaces and do high-quality work. I agree to some extent that older people contribute to the development of countries, in which they live, but expenses on the healthcare system can outnumber all benefits. To begin with, most people aged 65 and older are professionals, who have spent decades at work and know everything about these particular occupations. Therefore, potentially they can go on working and pay taxes to fund the budget. Moreover, these individuals can share their knowledge with new generations and train professionals in their fields. In this case, an ageing population creates a lot of advantages for society and for the development of the national economy. On the other hand, it is undeniable that elderly people have a weaker immune system and are more prone to different diseases. For example, when I was working in the hospital, approximately 70% of my patients were elderly people. Thus, the governments should invest much more in the healthcare system to keep up the health of this vulnerable group of the population. Additionally, taking into consideration that these people are supposed to take sick leave more often, it can turn into a real issue for the governments. In conclusion, although I accept the idea that elderly people contribute to a country's development, I believe that the cons of having an ageing population outweigh the pros. This is because when older people are sick they not only stop earning money but also spend the national budget on treatment.