37.In recent years, young people in many countries choose to live by themselves. What are the reasons and is it positive or negative for the development of the society?

Currently, it is not unusual for an increasing number of people to choose to live alone. From my perspective, there are multiple factors that contribute to this phenomenon and have a detrimental impact on society as a whole. The first major factor is the pursuit of freedom and privacy. Young adults today prefer an independent lifestyle more than ever before. In other words, they are not willing to be restricted by family bonds or marriage. As a result, a solitary lifestyle satisfies their needs and becomes their favoured choice. Another reason contributing to this issue is that some young people choose metropolitan areas as their destination for seeking employment. This behaviour means that they must be separated from their parents and live alone due to geographical limitations. Although this lifestyle is popular among young people and brings them certain benefits, the detrimental influences on society arising from it can never be ignored. The trend towards independent living is increasing the demand for housing. Therefore, the pressure of the housing shortage will gradually become a serious issue for authorities to handle. From another angle, becoming accustomed to living alone is more likely to form introverted and egoistic characters since those people have no one to communicate with at home when encountering problems or feeling frustrated. Nevertheless, only by having an extroverted personality and a teamwork spirit can people integrate better and more smoothly into work and society. In conclusion, the trend of living alone is unavoidable; however, it is essential to consider the aforementioned disadvantages and place greater importance on family life and personal growth.