The use of social media (e.g. Facebook and Twitter) is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is a fact that direct communication is being replaced due to the advent of social media platforms such as Facebook and Twitter. While I accept that these apps can bring a number of benefits, I believe they are more likely to have a harmful impact. On the one hand, there are a variety of reasons why social media can be advantageous. The first reason is that it helps people interact with each other despite long distances. In particular, they only need a mobile gadget connected to the Internet to talk with anyone they want without travelling to meet face to face. In addition, this type of communication media is the most effective during the COVID-19 pandemic. Without online media, there would be a large number of people who can not work from home, which might result in the stagnation of the economy in many nations. On the other hand, I contend that digital networking sites can negatively affect individuals. Firstly, contact via the Internet requires people to stare at the digital screen for a long time. Therefore, they would eventually suffer from serious eye problems, namely shortsightedness or even eye cancer. Furthermore, excessive use of social media may make people get addicted to it. These addicts would gradually lose connections with the real world, leading to the feeling of being isolated. As a result, they can have many mental disorders which are quite hard to cure as well as future consequences. In conclusion, it is undeniable that social networking sites can exert several positive influences in some circumstances that people can not meet each other, however, it seems to me that their benefits are far more prevailed by the drawbacks.