The tourist industry has grown enormously over the last fifty years and there are few places which are unaffected by it. However, tourism rarely benefits the countries which tourists visit. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Globalization has made the world a small village, enabling cross-country travel and tourism. While some people only see the positive effects of tourism, others, especially local inhabitants, might find that their home town and area become polluted. This essay will explain why I am a supporter of tourism. Firstly, tourism produces jobs and increases business revenues. Tourists usually bring lots of money for their journeys to spend. Thus, benefitting the host city and country. For instance, around 10% of work in Oslo is generated by tourists. This number almost doubles during the summer holiday, which is invaluable for the Norwegians. Moreover, governments will be forced to have a larger focus on attractions and tourist sites in order to ensure a continuous influx of wealthy foreigners, in another term, money. Consequently, historic places would be restored and rehabilitated, likewise, natural reserves would be preserved. However, there is an understandable cry out from the local communities, that tourism litters and pollutes valuable cultural monuments and areas. I believe this can be encountered by building more facilities, including roads, hotels, and sanitation facilities. In conclusion, I believe that tourism is paramount for a city's economic growth and for the preservation of the most visited sites. Furthermore, the facilitation of transport, accommodation and services for a large number of people will reduce pollution and eventually silence the critics.