In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

Across the globe, TV series and books about crime are increasing in popularity. In this essay, I will explore the reasons as to why there is a surge in interest in this genre, and what I believe the impact on society will be if these shows are not regulated. The first reason why interest is rising is because people want to know how the criminal mind works. This is because viewers can then apply what they have learned on close contacts to see whether some of them fit into this mould that is created by the media. For example, Mindhunters is a Netflix show where FBI agents try to decipher a criminal's mind to prevent further negative outcomes from happening. Hence, it is dangerous that the layperson can start to apply these traits to normal individuals and ruin relationships that would otherwise be normal. Furthermore, it offers the same experience as reading a horror novel because these books trigger a fear of the unknown. Although most of them are written based on fiction, there is inspiration that is taken from real life. For instance, a writer may use a police report about the state of a murderer's house and include it in their story. Therefore, readers may start suspecting their neighbours if they find something that correlates with something they read in the book. For instance, a bad smell came from their neighbour's house for a week. In my opinion, portraying evil in different modes of communication can be damaging as consumers can get desensitized to it, like a horrible smell in the bathroom which is non-existent after a few minutes. As a result, people will start to think criminal activity is a normal part of life when it should not be. In conclusion, the rising consumption of materials related to crime is due to understanding why people break the law and to get the thrill from the fear of the unknown. In my opinion, this will end up breaking relationships and normalizing wrongdoing.