Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep what problems can lack of sleep cause? what can be done about lack of sleep?

Insomnia is a common, preventable disease that is affecting a large portion of the adult population. In this essay, I will explore why lack of sleep is harmful to health and what can be done to prevent sleepiness from recurring. Insomnia can cause impairment of cognitive functions, such as attention and memory. This is because the brain is unable to remove waste products from circulation therefore it is not able to carry out its function properly. For example, a student stays awake the whole night to study for an exam; however, in the morning they are unable to recall most of the information they have learned due to the lack of sleep. Furthermore, the build-up of waste products can lead to chronic conditions, such as diabetes, if they are not expelled from the body. To ensure a proper night of sleep has occurred, one must improve their daily habits. For instance, not using devices which emit blue light, such as phones, before going to bed. In addition, doing a relaxing activity, like reading a book, an hour before sleep to wind down the body and prepare it for rest. Avoiding coffee after lunch is important, as coffee stimulates flight or fight response thereby reducing the chance of a full sleep cycle. In conclusion, insomnia is increasing all across the globe due to the high-stress environment, as a,result it decreases the body's natural functions and it promotes chronic conditions. To avoid sleepiness, bad habits need to be addressed and fixed.