Competitiveness is a positive quality for people in most societies. How does competitiveness affect individuals? Is it a positive or negative quality?

It is undoubtedly true that traits define the personality of a person and compasses him to develop and nourish. There is still an ongoing debate about whether competitiveness is a positive or negative quality for one to acquire nevertheless we will discuss both sides of this attribute. The sentiment of competition motivates the person to evolve to his optimum level and succeed. However, it can gradually affect the corporeal and intellectual health of individuals. Competitiveness accentuates many inner potentials and confidence in people and keeps motivating them to pursue their goals. Furthermore, the sense of combat and surpassing other people to become the highest person in the room acts as a catalyst to achieve their ambitions. Indisputably, one constantly tries to improvise and to be more fierce than others in awe of competition. Additionally, human beings are in a consistent state of learning and adapting in cut-throat circumstances. Likewise, this optimistic quality is constructive in the contemporary and ruthless world which will lead to a successful and comforting career or life in the future. On the contrary, there are underlying effects of this character that one does not recognize on their own because of their utmost focus on competing but proves to be atrocious for one’s body and mind. Admittedly, self-centred nature can deteriorate the personal and deep relationships needed in a brutal and cold world. The continual expenditure of energy by observing and comparing oneself with others causes physiological and psychological disorders which are the most prominent causes of this feature. To recapitulate, any facet with proper acknowledgement and boundaries is efficacious for mankind. Competitiveness surely brings out the obligatory and paramount attributes needed in life but we should not trivialize its effect in life which is obstructive.