Some people believe that it is the responsibility of individuals to take care of their own health and diet. Others however believe that governments should make sure that their citizens have a healthy diet. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people claim that individuals should be responsible for their own health and meals whereas others believe the authority needs to take this into their consideration and guide citizens on what they should eat. From my perspective, society should rely on themselves to live a healthy lifestyle. There are many benefits for individuals to look after their own diet. Firstly and most importantly, the public has different dietary needs regarding their figures, routines and lifestyle and no one else knows better about this than oneself. People can make better choices based on the whole picture of themselves rather than following a general plan which is designed for a nation. For example, people who work in a construction site require more carbohydrates and protein than others in order to get enough nutrition for their bodies. On the other hand, in many situations, the government's guidance is vital and it leads the nation to prosperity. Taking the nation's health status under control results in a rise in the population of healthy people. Consequently, fewer people are sick and employees can work more hours, which drives up the country's economy. Moreover, the government can easily access new findings and research which means the guidance from the government is more reasonable and reliable than an individual's idea. Especially for the people who are not well educated. In conclusion, I believe individuals should take the main responsibility because it maximizes their own benefits however, the government's control brings positive aspects to the nation's development and helps people who cannot access reliable resources about nutrition.