Some people feel that boarding schools are an excellent option for children, while other people disagree for number of reasons. Consider both side of this debate and reach a conclusion.

Boarding schools have been with us for a long time, to the point that they are even the centrepiece of fantasy novels such as the Harry Potter series. However, with the popularity of public schools on the rise, some people state that they are not the optimum method of living and studying for students. This is a conversation that merits the analysis of both sides. In this essay, I will try to illustrate these perspectives and draw a conclusion based on them. The upsides to boarding schools are numerous. First, the complete control of pupils' time by educators paves the way for raising a more responsible, sensible, and mature adult. For instance, the routine of waking up and going to bed on a certain schedule teaches the young the importance of order. Second, the educational authorities possess more flexibility in managing the educational aspects of pupils' studies. For example, additional courses can be thought since more time is at hand. Thus, boarding schools might lead to higher standards of education and character growth. On the other hand, certain drawbacks can also be attributed to such systems. For one, the lack of direct contact with parents at such a young age might lead to depression and other mental issues in susceptible individuals. Not everyone is built the same and some children need the safety and support of their parents to grow. As an example, I have always battled depression, and any time away from my parents made my symptoms much worse. Additionally, boarding schools enrolment cost is very much higher than a normal public school. Subsequently, this can prove to be a burden on families that are struggling financially. Hence, it appears that these kinds of schools are not suitable for everyone. To sum up, it can be easily deduced that boarding schools possess some benefits such as higher standards in teaching the merits of principle and quality of education. Alas, issues such as mental disorders as a result of personal differences and monetary problems might arise due to it. According to this, it can be reasoned that public schools are a safer option for education unless an individual is rigorously assessed to study in them.