Every one of us should become a vegetarian because eating meat can cause serious health problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Vegetarianism is becoming more and more popular among many people, particularly because of the harm that some people believe meat can cause to the body. However, I strongly believe that it is not necessary for everybody to be a vegetarian. Vegetarians believe that flesh is unhealthy because of the diseases it has been connected with. There has been much research to suggest that red meat is particularly bad, for example, and that consumption should be limited to eating it just a few times a week to avoid certain types of cancer. Meats can also be high in saturated fats so they have been linked to health problems such as cardiovascular disease and diabetes. However, there are strong arguments for eating flesh. The first reason is that as humans we are designed to eat meat, which suggests it is not unhealthy, and we have been eating flesh for thousands of years. For instance, cavemen made hunting implements so that they could kill animals and eat their meat. Besides, the flesh is a rich source of protein which helps to build muscles and bones. Vegetarians often have to take supplements to get all the essential vitamins and minerals. On the other hand, it may be the case that too much meat is harmful, but we can easily limit the amount we have without having to cut it out of our diet completely. To sum up, I do not agree that everyone should turn to a vegetarian diet. Although the overconsumption of flesh could possibly be unhealthy, a balanced diet of meat and vegetables should result in a healthy body.