In some countries, more and more people are hiring a personal fitness trainer, rather than playing sports or doing exercise classes. What are the reasons for this? Is this a possitive or a negative development?

It is true that personal fitness trainer (PT) has become a hot career in some parts of the world. There is a range of reasons that lead to this phenomenon, and in my opinion, this is totally a good sign. There is a variety of explanations for why choosing a PT has become common in the past few years. Firstly, professionals can draft out a specific schedule which is appropriate and suitable for one individual. If customers stick to the timetable and coaching, they can see the progress and result obviously. Secondly, trainees can work at their own pace with flexible time, as many people find it hard to go to exercise courses periodically. Finally, it is more motivating and inspiring when working with a private trainer, as, besides the physical techniques, they also have psychological manoeuvring skills which help customers build their endurance and perseverance. I do believe this trend is a positive signal. It proves that today’s humans have become serious to pay attention to their health and beauty, and they are willing to invest in their bodies. As a result, the general health of society has increased, and we have seen more energetic, optimistic and beautiful people around us. In addition, this trend has created a new job title and given employment opportunities for many people who are passionate about being sports and fitness guides. For example, more and more individuals have given up their dead-end jobs and found their passion to be a Yoga or Gym personal teacher. In conclusion, it is more convenient, effective and stimulating to work with a PT, and this has beneficial effects on trainers, trainees and society in general.