Governments are encouraging industries and businesses to move from large cities to the regional areas. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years it has been noticed that Authorities are persuading firms and companies to relocate from big cities to remote sites. However, in this, essay I will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this decision. In my opinion, I believe that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. Initially, the encouragement of the relocation of industry and companies outside of the large cities is the best idea because it helps in reducing pollution. For instance, a company which manufactures tyres causes air and noise pollution so when they are located outside huge cities, there is less pollution in the cities. Furthermore, they cause traffic congestion indirectly because of workers working in the factories travelling to and from work. For example, when workers knock off duty there is always pick hour in the city which will cause traffic jams due to those knocking off duty and those travelling at lunchtime. However, I admit that there is a disadvantage in the moving of factories and businesses to regional areas because the location of products is going to be far away from the final consumers which means it is going to be expensive for owners to transport goods to the final user. Thus, basic commodities are produced outside the city therefore, there is a need for transport to ferry the goods to the users in the city. In conclusion, the decision for the Government to move factories and businesses bears more weight as compared to drawbacks because of the reduction of pollution near the public and fewer traffic jams in the city. On the other,hand basic commodities will be located far away from the public as well.