Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Some say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of possessing an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

An increasing number of old-age communities along with the population has been noticed in the last few decades. It is claimed many that people living longer lives as compared to the past which is considered to be an issue for the nations, whereas, there are much more positives has been seen at the social level. The older people have far more merits than their demerits for the government which are discussed below. There is a number of advantages of having an older community in society. The first and foremost is of sense of security in a family. As we know, almost all the countries around the world focus more on nuclear families. So, having grandparents in a family will provide them security, and they can provide them guidance as well as enlighten the path by shedding their unaffordable knowledge. Their advice, therefore, can protect them from any obstacles coming in life. For example, in my country, it is seen as a sense of goodness if we take advice from our elders. Moreover, old age people also take care of their grandchildren. In this fast-paced life, no one has time to spend with their children, so it becomes a trend to leave them alone under the surveillance of caretakers, but grandparents do it without any money and provide care as they are nurturing their own children. For instance, It is seen in the studies that in developing countries, parents mostly prefer their elders instead of caretakers. Hence, their lives are priceless even if they cannot work like youngsters, but their experience matters a lot. On the flip side, governments feel pressurize because more pension plans may impact the economy of a nation, but just to save a bunch of money, the older crowd cannot be thrown into the well. They are an indispensable part of our society. To conclude, although having more age has a burden on the government in terms of money, it has more positives for society in terms of social security and protection for the little ones.