In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

People have different views on whether graduates should learn in a specific academic field as opposed to getting a double degree to expand their reservoir of knowledge. While there are some advantages to obtaining knowledge from one domain, I do believe that they can benefit more from getting involved in various subjects. On the one hand, I accept that it is beneficial to learn just one subject. Firstly, students’ efficiency and effectiveness would be improved with their energy being used on an object wholeheartedly. For example, the stress would be decreased and they can devote themselves to learning. Besides, getting high qualifications can help them keep in touch with people who are authoritative in this field. What’s more, if they have better professional skills, they will have a chance to have a decent job and stable income in their career, which would provide them with a prosperous future. However, there are many reasons why I support the idea that they should engage in various subjects. To begin with, it would render boredom to study only a subject, whereas engaging in other majors at the same time could be enjoyable. In addition, if the major they choose faces a declining trend and even steps into a dilemma, they can shift to another profession that they have learned before on campus. Furthermore, people who have a variety of abilities can expand their social circle so that they can communicate with others and get knowledge from others. Last but not least, having such flexibility, expanded social circle and communicative skills would turn them into positive individuals and improve their overall sense of well-being. For instance, the job market needs well-rounded individuals like them who are more adaptable and flexible. In conclusion, I can understand the reason why those who are studying tend to learn for qualification, but I would argue that it is more desirable to immerse themselves in all kinds of courses.