It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

There exists a spectrum of people. On one end, people are always ready to accept risks, while folks on the opposite side never do due to the adverse effects they could incur. This essay will shed light on the pros and cons of taking possible unwanted results, before giving the author's opinion. Firstly, regarding the disadvantages of this action, certain consequences could negatively affect one's life for a long time. It cannot be denied that depending on the level of risk one takes, the setbacks can haunt them and create obstacles in their future daily lives. Furthermore, the discomfort and the fear of the unknown could also impact one's mental health. Being overly anxious and overthinking possible problems could put mental stress, which may bring more harm than the benefits of taking risks in the first place. An example illustrating this point is the Titan submersible accident that recently occurred. All of the guests on that trip acknowledged the danger and experimental nature of the journey but still opted to visit the Titanic wreckage. Nevertheless, there is a different point of view which holds that risk aversion is not a progressive attribute. Some individuals believe that risks give life meaning and that everything humans do in life has a chance of turning bad. Thus, not only that it would be impractical to avoid all uncertainty, the tendency to stay safe would limit the great experiences that one could obtain in life. As a result, people will not be able to enjoy life to the fullest. For instance, I took a portion of my savings to start a business last year. Although there were unexpected difficulties that arose in the beginning, I learnt a lot about doing business and became more resilient to drawbacks. In conclusion, it can be seen that although the looming consequences of uncertainty could have long-term effects on one's life, their advantages are that one will be more knowledgeable and life will be more worth living. Thus, it is the opinion of the writer that the pros outweigh the cons in this matter.