A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? In our modern society recently, some people argue that social status and wealth of a person define their personal values. Moreover, they also say that basic moral values, such as respectful, kind-hearted, and honesty, are not important anymore in life. Based on my own experience, I would say that I quite disagree with those statements. First of all, as born and raised in a religious family, the main value about life that has been taught for me is about keeping good relationships with other humans. I believe that being nice, trustworthy, and humble, will build other people's respect towards us. Furthermore, as my faith regarding karma, we will harvest what we planted. If we spread kindness to our society, then we will receive it the same way. Secondly, I think that social status and wealth are temporary things in this world. Some people can gain them through hard work, but others are merely inherited from their parents or ancestors. In my opinion, if they do not be able to maintain their position and wealth wisely, they will collapse to the ground. For me, the only way to keep those materialistic values stay on our grasp are by keep being humble, which is an underrated value in recent society. Lastly, in conclusion, I stay on my belief that personal moral values are the bare minimum for an individual. Furthermore, respect for each other, being humble, and can be trusted are more important than social degree and wealth to be honoured as a human.