Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. DO the advanatges of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Many children of immigrants tend to be bilingual. Certain professionals think children should learn foreign languages at a younger age, rather than at high school. Learning different French or German at such a young age helps their brains develop as well as provides a new lifelong skill, but it can take away from their playtime. Is this worth it? Children learn a variety of subjects in primary school, for example, English, Maths and Science. These provide a baseline for children to develop throughout their academic career and so are heavily focused upon. Other subjects such as humanities and languages are not taught as strictly, however, there are many advantages in doing so, namely, the development of the brain. It is common knowledge that learning a new language develops the neurones from one side of the brain to another, which strengthens the brain's neural network. Learning languages adds to the subjects children are made to learn at primary school. They are already subjected to hours of classwork and homework when learning the core topics - adding another to the roster may cause burnout. Students of this age require playtime to rejuvenate themselves and to keep fit. Playing games like catch helps them develop hand-eye coordination, tag helps them develop running skills and team games allow them to learn communication skills. This is also vital for child development. In my view, I believe primary school students should have the opportunity to learn new languages. As I first stated, many immigrant families are bilingual which shows it is a possibility for other children; therefore the advantages of developing a lifelong skill outweigh any disadvantages such as burnout.