Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Some say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of possessing an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

When comparing the past, extended life span is a common phenomenon throughout the globe. Someone argues that elderly people are a burden for the country. Opponents are saying that they are valuable resources for society. I strongly believe that elders create an overburden on the country's finance. On the one hand, the elderly population consist of a talented and well-experienced workforce who has sacrificed their young age for their nation. They have had many experiences in diverse fields. If a country can utilize their knowledge in an effective way it is really beneficial for nations in terms of development. For example, in the education domain, most of the professors are belonging to the elderly category but they act a big role in the particular field. Therefore, having talented old age persons a good advantage for society. On the other hand, the elderly means they are more dependent on others. Government has to expend huge amounts of budget to maintain their health and social security. Hence old people create an overburden in their motherland's economy. For instance, Sri Lanka expend nearly 1.5 per cent of their GDP on the welfare of senior citizens in 2019 while expanding 3 per cent of the GDP on education. That numbers explicitly the weight of the elders over the nation's economy. In conclusion, the increasing ageing population is a common issue in all nations. These well-experienced and highly talented individuals are valuable resources for a country's development but they have created hardship in the nation's economy. So I strongly believe that possessing an elderly population is a huge disadvantage for the homeland in terms of development.