In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree whit this opinion?

The convenience of fast food to consume and it's affordable prices have lead to the rise of patients diagnosed with health issues due to high fast food consumption rate in some countries. Although if this is not stopped there will be a surge of patients with health problems due to overconsumption of fast food, I do not agree on altering the tax rate for fast food as a solution for this condition. To outline the problem, the main factor that lead to the health issues caused by fast food is due to the overconsumption and lack of self-restraint of some people. Usually, many of them overconsume because they like the taste as the food is usually loaded with salt and sugar. This will lead to an unbalanced nutrition intake especially for sodium and sugar which causes the health issues if consumed without proper portioning. On the other hand, the distinctive aspect of fast food is its affordable price which also enables someone to buy the food at a large quantity. Although this is also why many less affluent household will rely on fast food as their main source of meal other than cheap canned goods. Hence, the main reason of why I disagree on altering the tax for fast food. Anyone who eats fast food just because they like the taste will still keep buying them for any price given while some poor families will suffer as their main source of food will be too expensive for them to afford. To conclude, just because some group of people are not able to control their appetite for fast food does not mean that it can simply be solved by rising the taxes. Fast food does not just cater to those who like the taste but also to the poor family who only can afford them other than getting source of food from canned meals. This shows how there is a need for the governments to come up with other solutions on controlling the fast food consumption so that everyone can eat fast food in moderation.