Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

Animal testing has been in practice for decades. Even though it's ethically questionable, it has played an irreplaceable role in many scientific discoveries. With the emergence of modern technology many alternatives have come into light. This essay will discuss scenarios where experimentation on animals can be justified and it's effective alternatives. Before the invention of anaesthesia if we look at the process of surgery, it was extremely painful and brutal but unfortunately there was no other alternatives at that time, when only a painful surgical intervention could save the life of a person. Similarly, if we go back in time and ruminate about the contribution of animal testing in the field of medicine we will be able to justify it in some cases. In many scenarios scientists had to prioritise the lives of humans more than animals in order to save humanity from deadly diseases. For example: ebola vaccine was invented by animal testing. The trial may have caused the animals to go through a painful procedure and many may have died too nonetheless it has saved lives of countless humans. On the other hand, now with the advancement of technology many alternatives are surfacing. In many cases animals don't accurately mimic the response to diseases like humans. Additionally, animal testing is time-consuming and often not cost effective. The time that takes to yield results from experimentation on animals makes the process fruitless. The most popular and accurate alternative is human volunteers. However, alternatives like 3D modelling, stem cell research, tissue culture, synthetic modelling are advanced computer modelling are reliable methods. In conclusion, it can be observed from examples in the past that all animal testing is not bad. Human race is alive today as a result of experimentation on animals. In spite of that, scientists should always consider the moral and ethical perspective and only turn to animal testing as a last resort when life threatening situations arise.