In many countries, people are now living longer than before. Some people say an aging polulation creates problem for governments. Other people think are benifits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advancement in science and medicine, life expectancy has grown in many countries. People in this generation live longer than the previous one. This appears to be a positive sign, but some folks working in government consider it otherwise. They believe with more old citizens, the country's economy will be impacted. This has proven true for most European countries, but shouldn't we consider the advantages of having wise and old people around us? Old folks are kind and profoundly caring in nature. They bring balance to society and also play a crucial role in nurturing a child. Hence, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Having a majority of the senior population can hamper the growth of any country. It will impact the economy, as the country will continuously face labour shortages. In addition to that, for supporting their senior citizens, a country has to invest a big portion of the money in the welfare of old folks. For example, fully funded old-age homes are needed, subsidized medical treatments, and many other schemes. There are always two sides of the coin. Old people do bring balance to society. The younger generation is work and money oriented. While following such a path, they sometimes become selfish. On the other hand, old folks are always kind and caring. They bring smiles to many faces and also play a major role in nurturing a child. For instance, families having older person tends to have profound values of their roles and responsibilities towards society. Moreover, older people are more experienced and are considered to be wiser than the young generation. In conclusion, I acknowledge the caveats of increasing the older population could be worrisome for some governments, but the advantages always outweigh the disadvantages.