Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification.

Learning is part of people ’s life. It is not only involved with the class, school, and seminar, but also people can get it from anywhere, such as personal experience in life. Some people believe that everyone can learn a variety of subjects, especially when the supporting materials are needed to improve the main subject. However, some also argue that it is crucial to spend the time and attention only for a qualification. Both views have positive and negative sides depending on the goals of each individual. Firstly, learning interdisciplinary subjects might be very beneficial for practitioners in social and humanities fields. Social and humanity have a vast view in which people can correlate with each other and connect the dots. For instance, a linguist who wants to explore the use of linguistics in developing conversational AI such as ChatGPT. The skills of computer science in machine learning, large language models, and programming are required. In that case, it is highly suggested that people learn another subject to support the main subject. However, there are a few things that need to be considered, such as learning a wide variety of subjects might cause confusion of one’s expertise. Secondly, it might not really be applicable if the person is a doctor, or wants to take a very specific specialization. It is good to give all of the time and attention to one subject. It will help the person to be more focused and reduce distractions while learning. However, focusing on one subject might be very boring and once the person jumps into that field it is hard to change the expertise. In this case, it requires high personal ambition and dedication. To sum up, learning a variety of subjects or focusing on one main subject has its own advantages and disadvantages. It is important to be very considerate in choosing the learning decision in what to achieve and how to achieve it. It depends on the goals of the individual itself.