Some people think the best way to solve global environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

At one point in time, the government tried to solve global environmental problems by way of increasing the cost of diesel and petrol. While some people argue that it is an efficient way to solve environmental issues, I believe this effort is not the best solution for the environmental problem based on the following reasons. Firstly, increasing fuel costs is not an efficient way to combat environmental pollution. This is because, by increasing the costs of fuel, people still be able to choose other means of transportations to travel such as trains and buses. It doesn’t deter or decrease the use of transportation which ultimately will still contribute to pollution. On the other hand, there are other ways that can contribute to resolving the issues. One of the solutions is to increase taxes for oil and gas companies for drilling oil. With the increment of taxes, it will leave the company with no choice but to shut down drilling projects and stop any oil productions. Secondly, the government can work on providing incentives for the companies who contribute to renewable resources spending. By providing the incentives on the company annual spending, the company will start exploring other options such as renewable or waste-based energy. For instance, organisation like Woodside has started to move away from oil and gas drilling to renewable energy and resources projects after the Australian Government announced the incentive for companies who promote renewable resources spending. In conclusion, I reiterate my statement above and disagree that increasing oil prices is the best solution to solve environmental issues. I believe there are other alternatives such as increasing taxes for oil productions and giving out incentives for renewable energy and resources to deal with the issues.