Some people believe that a good way to reduce crime is longer sentences. Others may think there are alternate ways to this problem. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The prosperity of a nation is proportional to a decrease in crime rates. Many people think that increasing the sentence helps to decrease criminality, while some people believe that different actions needed to be taken to lessen crimes. In my opinion, stricter punishments needed to be enforced to lower the law breaks. Firstly, it is important to increase the sentence for a crime to make sure the prisoner will have a time to rethink his future. This is because the jail authorities will be getting enough time to counsel every prisoner and the individual will be disengaged from his criminal activities and gets a lot of time to think about a life outside crimes. For instance, the freedom inside the jail will be limited to basic activities and the prisoner will not have enough time to interact with their criminal friends which would eventually give the prisoner a time to think about his own life. The argument goes that longer sentences will help the prisoner to come out of his criminal activities as he will be in contact with his colleagues. However, it is important to induce a fear into the offenders to not break the law. The reason for this is, in today's world crime rate is increasing as the laws are getting liberal and it is very important to increase the fear in offenders that the authorities would punish them hard in case they break the law. For instance, rape cases in India are increasing every day as the offenders know the Indian Judiciary will not give them any severe punishments like Death Sentences for rape cases. These types of cases can be reduced considerably if a fear of severe punishment is induced into the lawbreakers. In conclusion, although it is important to increase the sentence, it might not help to reduce the crime as the fear of severe punishment will be more helpful to curtail the crime rates.