Some people spend most of their lives living close to where they were born. what might be the reasons for this? what are the advantages and disadvantages?

The invention of air travel has made immigration easier to other countries but people choose to remain where they were born. This is because family values play a crucial role in the upbringing of a potential ex-pat, and the relocation cost is too much for the person to bear. However, not going abroad may lead to decreased job opportunities and the chance to promote one's own traditions. The reasons why individuals choose to remain is because they want to maintain family ties and it is very expensive to relocate to another country. First, being close to family is important for a large portion of traditionally raised individuals as it is part of their DNA to remain in close physical contact with their families. Additionally, the cost to move is a heavy burden on individuals with minute income. For example, a labourer who wants to immigrate to a developed nation but he does not have the resources to travel. Therefore, it will be easier to find jobs in their local town. But on the other hand, staying in a single location will deprive workers of the opportunity to excel in their careers because training in first-world countries is better. For instance, a doctor from India who wants to practice in the UK is required to perform well on the Plab examination which will lead to the doctor providing the best possible care for his patients. Moreover, remaining in a single location will prevent the cultural exchange from happening. This is because expats can portray their culture to the rest of the population thereby removing barriers between the two civilizations. In conclusion, the birthplace of individuals is important to most people as it is easier to support their family and the cost of migration far exceeds the benefits. However, staying in one place will prevent career progression and cultural exchange.