In many countries, people are living in a ‘throw-away’ society. They tend to use things for a short time and then throw them away. What do you think are the causes? What problems may it lead to?

Society has witnessed a rising trend of people discarding items after using them shortly. This essay will discuss the possible reasons for this and its negative consequences. To begin with, the reasons for the rapid growth of throwing away single-use items are twofold. Firstly, consumers mostly choose convenience over sustainability. With consumerism infiltrating the global population through advertisements, people have developed the habit of hoarding, overspending and wasting. For example, Costco Wholesale has reinforced the behaviour of throwing away stuff and buying new ones, by encouraging purchasing commercials in bulk at a low price. Secondly, the mass production of disposable items makes them ubiquitous. For example, millions of plastic cutlery and coffee cups, which are cheap to manufacture and often provided for free, are being used and thrown away every day. In addition, this habit could lead to a multitude of negative problems. Primarily, it has taken a toll on our ecosystem. This is because the majority of these disposable items are plastics, which can heavily contaminate the environment once dumped into landfill and oceans. For instance, studies show that fish and other marine life have been consuming plastic waste and resulted in death. Additionally, it leads to the depletion of our natural resources. Non-renewable resources, like wood and water, are wasted since these goods are discarded soon after being manufactured without proper recycling. In conclusion, this wasteful and non-sustainable behaviour pattern is boosted by prevailing consumerism and mass production, while also not being recycled hence causing excessive harm to our planet. To counteract the damage, governments will have to act together and take immediate measures to limit the usage of disposable goods.