Some people believe that smart phones are destroying social interaction today. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Smartphones are one of the most popular ways of communication in the present world. There is an argument that smartphones are damaging our social interaction whereas others believe that it is part of modern communication. In my opinion, Although excessive use of smartphones as a communication tool may have some negative effects like addiction to mobile games, I agree that It has far greater positive impacts on social bonding such as long-distance communication and video call function. To begin with, Smartphonesphones are useful devices to keep in touch with people who are living far away from each other. It has made communication between people living in different parts of the world possible. For example, A student who has left his home country for higher studies abroad can easily communicate with his neighbours and friends with the help of apps like WhatsApp, and Viber which isn't doable without smartphones. As a result, Smartphones have not only removed long-distance communication barriers but also made them even stronger. On the other hand, video calling is another great revolution for social interaction with the help of smartphones, what's more, society members can now hear each other voices as well as watch them live in front of their eyes. This has made bonding and social communication far more powerful. For instance, Individuals may forget each other's face after some time but with the video call function in, smartphones it will not be the case. Finally, video calling has increased community interactions a lot. In conclusion, despite some drawbacks smartphones have a lot to offer which creates social harmony. Its impact on long-distance communication and its video call function can not be overlooked. Therefore, It is recommended that we focus on the positive sides of smartphones rather than the negative sides.