Some people think that children should learn to read from traditional paper books. Others feel that it is fine to start the reading process on an e-reader (like a Kindle or iPad). Discuss both views and give your own opinion

In the wake of digitalisation various types of gadgets such as personal computers and tablets are rapidly replacing authentic paper means of information storage and children become tech-savvy since their first days. While some feel that it is still possible for children to learn to read using electronic devices, I side with those who believe that hard copies of books are indispensable in this endeavour. On the one hand, it could be argued that tablets and computers make the process of learning, especially reading, much easier and more convenient. Some people think that such devices are better than books in that they are thinner, lighter and numerous files can be stored on them. Thus, for example, children would find them handy and would be able to carry their computers and tablets everywhere, so that the process of learning would not be interrupted. Also, e-readers are considered helpful as they sometimes provide instant access to dictionaries, which, in turn, would allow children to find a proper meaning of a word and its contextual utilisation. By and large, some people feel that children might benefit from the same functions of electronic gadgets, that adults find useful. On the other hand, personally, I believe that traditional paper books are irreplaceable. Firstly, paper is natural for people’s eyes and, as a result, children are less likely to develop certain diseases connected with vision and sight. Moreover, for instance, nowadays special books with enlarged letters are being published for young readers and can be found in almost any bookshop. Secondly, even though books do not have virtually any ‘advanced’ functions, in comparison with tablets and computers, it is a positive factor as children are safely denied the opportunity to get distracted by surfing the Internet or watching videos. Consequently, in my opinion, children would learn to read faster and more effectively if they used hard copies of books. In conclusion, although electronic devices make reading more convenient and provide a lot of supplementary functions, traditional books do not have a detrimental effect on children ’s health and do not allow for distraction. Therefore, on balance, I firmly believe that children should embark on reading with paper books in their hands.