Task 2: More people put their personal information online (address, telephone number…) for everyday activities such as socializing on social networks or banking purposes. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In this era of information technology, many people publish private credentials on their social media platforms for daily activities to socialize with their networks and for financial purposes. Although some may think it is an inevitable advancement, I believe the other way: it is a foreseeable negative development in our civilizations. Some of the reasons are the increasing rate of scams using personal data and the low rate of law enforcement regarding the latter. To begin with, I often read on the online news in Indonesia that many victims have been scammed by criminals offering some collateral-free credit. First, the perpetrators will call a random person from the online database collected through social media. Then the targeted victim will believe to loan from them, not knowing the risks, terms and conditions. Furthermore, if the borrowed money is not paid as soon as possible, their family and friends are going to be terrorized through unwanted calls and messages. Although the borrower never gives the suspect their network’s phone number, the scammer already knows them. In addition to that, after that casualty, police can do nothing. It is because they often put the victims as the negligent party. Moreover, most of the callers are untraceable, using a foreign telephone number. Even though there is already a new rule about private data protection, its application remains a problem in reality. In conclusion, we must consider and filter some information that we are willing to put on the internet because there is a private data malfunction by some bad guys.