In many families nowadays, both parents work and pay people to look after their children. Some people believe this is not good for families. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

The pressures of modern life mean that in many families both the mother and father have jobs while the children spend time in childcare. Some individuals believe this has a negative effects on family life. This essay will argue that although this situation may place pressure on people, overall it results in more advantages than disadvantages. Some people believe that paying people to look after your children has a negative impact. Firstly, many feel that children should spend more time with their family because the relationship is closer and more loving than with a career. Secondly, others argue that children need to relax at home rather than be in a stressful childcare environment. For example, there might be bullying that a child has to deal with. lastly, many think that the extra cost of childcare means that having a second salary provides few benefits. However, just because a stays at home with the children, it does not necessarily mean that they will use the time to develop family relationships. Constantly caring for children can, in fact, cause strain. Besides, there are many benefits to children being looked after in paid care. For instance, nowadays children do not socialise with each other as much as in the past. Childcare gives more opportunities for this to happen. Secondly, childcare can provide lots more opportunities to do different things not available at home, such as playing team sports. Lastly, parents who use childcare may have more energy when they play with their children at the weekends and a little extra money to pay for holidays. In conclusion, I believe that it is the quality of time spent with children that is important, not the quantity. Provided parents choose childcare providers wisely, children can have more varied and higher quality life experience if both parents work.