In cities and towns all over the world, the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem?

Over the past few years, the standard of living of people has improved significantly. These days, as individuals prefer to use their private vehicles, it often leads to heavy traffic on roads. This is a common issue in most cities all over the world. This essay will elucidate the reasons for this problem and the possible solutions in the forthcoming paragraphs. Well, one of the reasons for this trend is to park anywhere on the roads. Since the rules and regulations in most cities are people -friendly, citizens take undue advantage of this and feel free to halt their vehicles as per their choices. This usually leads to traffic on roads because it prevents other cars to move smoothly. Moreover, because the conditions of public transportation are not up to the mark, people who can afford to use their cars for travelling purposes do not compromise. For instance, in remote areas where local public commute facilities have not improved, most localities prefer to traveller by two or four-wheelers. As a result, the high volume of personal vehicles leads to jams. Having said that, in order to avoid traffic problems, the law-making bodies must impose strict rules so that people avoid parking wherever they want. This will ensure that there are no roadblocks and vehicles can move around freely. Further, if the conditions of local transportation are improved, people would be willing to travel by them. For example, when the Mumbai metro started, many office-goers began travelling by it rather than using their own cars. This helped the town to reduce the number of personal vehicles on roads and resolved the issue of traffic jams. To summarise, even though the number of vehicle owners is increasing day by day, they can be encouraged to park only at the relevant spots and to use public modes of transportation as much as possible so that jams can be avoided.