Today, people in many countries can live and work anywhere they choose, because of improved communication technology and transport. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your on knowledge or experience

In the modern world that we live in, individuals have the liberty to live and work where they desire due to the advancements in transportation, communication and technology. While there may be some drawbacks to this transformation, I firmly believe that the advantages of this phenomenon outweigh the disadvantages. There are several reasons why how this has benefitted our current population. Firstly, due to the improved methods of transport, we are now able to travel by land, air and sea via automobiles, ferries and aeroplanes. As a result, people are no longer limited by their mode of transport. Secondly, technological advances such as computers, cell phones and the internet allows us to communicate globally with ease, this in turn allows the CEO of companies to work from remote locations and still excel in their fields financially. Moreover, studies in the UK have displayed that when a person is living in a location of their choice, it improves their overall mental health and in turn their performance. In saying this, there are some ‘downsides’ to such a movement where increased travel contributes to one of the biggest problems we face on earth which is global warming. Each mode of transportation contributes carbon emissions via the burning of fossil fuels, which is detrimental to our ozone layer. Furthermore, technological advancements such as desktops and mobile devices can cause a person to become comfortable working from home and may lead to the acceptance of a stationary method of life. They would no longer need to travel to their office or walk to a café for lunch or coffee which leads to an overall decrease in exercise and increased weight gain. To conclude, although the improved methods of transport, technological advancements and communication have indeed allowed individuals with the flexibility to live in a country or city of their choice. I believe that the advantages of this far outweigh the disadvantages and people should continue to use these for their pleasure.